The Silicon Valley Voice

Power To Your Voice

Sunnyvale Council Candidate Wins by One Vote

The Santa Clara County Registrar of Voters (ROV) has certified the official results of the Nov. 8, 2022 election, after a recount was required in the race for Sunnyvale’s District 3 City Council seat.

According to the official election results, Murali Srinivasan received 2,813 votes to Justin Wang’s 2,812 votes. Whenever the margin of victory is that close, the ROV must conduct a recount and the recount must be completed before the official election results are certified.

The ROV says the manual recount confirmed the same winner as the machine count.


Srinivasan will join Richard Mehlinger, who was elected to serve District 5 and received more than 70% of the vote, and District 1’s Linda Sell, who was appointed to the position in August because she was running unopposed.

Santa Clara Final Election Counts

The final election numbers show that Mayor Lisa Gillmor received 51.34% of the vote to Anthony Becker’s 48.66%.

In District 2, Council Member Raj Chahal won 62.56% of the vote to challenger Larry McColloch’s 37.44%.

Meanwhile, in District 3, incumbent Karen Hardy won 64.28% of the vote to challenger Christian Pellecchia’s 35.72%.

Gillmor, Chahal and Hardy will all take the oath of office on Tuesday, Dec. 13 at the Santa Clara City Council meeting.

Measure G, which amended the City charter to allow for the transfer of funds from City utilities to the general fund (something the City already does), passed 84.19% to 15.81%.

While Measure H, which increased the City’s business tax to a flat rate of $45 per employee per business with a cap of $350,000 and charge rental unit operators with three or more rental units $15 per unit, passed 59.50% to 40.50%.

Other Races

Robert “Bob” Jonsen will serve as the next Sheriff of Santa Clara County. He beat Kevin Jensen 50.81% to 49.19%.

At the state level, Aisha Wahab defeated Lily Mei in the race for the State Senate seat representing District 10. Wahab received 52% of the vote to Mei’s 48%.

Evan Low will represent Assembly District 26. While, nationally, Ro Khanna will continue to represent District 17, which includes Santa Clara and Sunnyvale.

The detailed election results, including voter turnout by precinct, can be found on the Registrar of Voters’ website.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.


You may like