The Silicon Valley Voice

Power To Your Voice

Sports Briefs 8-21-2013

Wilcox and Santa Clara High School Football Schedules Released
Friday night lights return to Santa Clara with the Chargers and Bruins each opening with scrimmages soon. Both teams will be vying to contend in the always-competitive Santa Clara Valley Athletic League De Anza division, fighting with some of the best public schools in the Bay Area week in and week out.

The Chargers host Valley Christian in a scrimmage on August 30 at 5 p.m., before playing a non-league game at Manteca on September 6 and hosting Half Moon Bay on September 13. The Chargers open De Anza division play on October 4 against Milpitas.

The Bruins host a scrimmage on August 30 at 7p.m. and open their non-league season at South San Francisco on September 6, followed by hosting Independence on September 13 at 7 p.m. The Bruins open their De Anza division slate on October 4 at Los Gatos, a team coached by former Bruins Coach Mark Krail. The Bruins are led by Head Coach Hank Roberts, one of the youngest coaches in the CCS at 29. Roberts was most recently an offensive line coach at Sequoia High and has assisted at University of Nevada.


The Bruins and Chargers will clash in the annual Mission City Bowl on November 8 at Bruins Stadium.

Santa Clara Native Carlos Hernandez Makes Second Start for A’s Triple-A Team
The Santa Clara native made his second start for the Sacramento Rivercats on August 19 against Tuscon – by far one he’d like to put behind him, going 3.2 innings, allowing 11 hits, eight runs, six earned runs and taking the loss. Hernandez, a left-handed pitcher out of Santa Clara High School is part of the Oakland Athletics’ farm system, having played at varying levels over the past several years.

Santa Clara PONY Fall Ball Signups
Sign-ups will be held August 25 and 25 and August 31 and September 1 at Lou Vierra Park from 11 a.m. to 2 p.m. Contact Lee Jones at or visit with any questions.

Homestead Little League Directors Selected
The 2013-14 SCHLL Board of Directors were selected on August 12.
Executive Committee: Chris Stampolis, President; Vince Reyes, Vice-President; Esho Martin, Secretary; Tom Austin, Treasurer; George Jennings, Player Agent
Board Members: Callie Austin, Charles Conley, Tim Iben, Dean Rodriguez, Anna E. Song, Grant Swanson, Jim Weyermann.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.


You may like