The Silicon Valley Voice

Power To Your Voice

2023 City of Sunnyvale Community Award Winners


The City of Sunnyvale congratulated its annual Community Award winners during the Sept. 23 State of the City celebration. Mayor Larry Klein and Sunnyvale city council members welcomed the awardees and the rest of the community to Sunnyvale’s new City Hall.

This was one of the first major city events held in the building since it officially opened in late September. The awardees and their families and friends gathered in the new council chambers.

This year’s winners are:

  • Elisabeth Floyd (Fremont High School) – High School Student of the Year
  • Edme Hernandez (Sunnyvale Christian School) – Educator of the Year
  • Amal Allan (Vice President, City National Bank’s Sunnyvale branch) – Businessperson of the Year
  • Sunnyvale Community Services Community Leadership Program – Volunteer of the Year
  • Cherryhill Neighborhood Association – Environmental Achievement
  • Jennifer Tipton (Sunnyvale Community Players) – Contribution to the Arts
  • Allison Joe – Distinguished Resident
  • Mayor’s Award of Excellence (Individual) – Kenny Lam
  • Mayor’s Award of Excellence (Group) – Duo Duo Project

By tradition, the award winners for the Mayor’s Award of Excellence Individual and Group were not named until the ceremony.

There were several former Sunnyvale mayors and council members in the audience, including Otto Lee, who is the district’s current representative on the Santa Clara County Board of Supervisors. Santa Clara County Assessor Larry Stone was also in attendance as well as the mayors from Campbell, Cupertino, Los Altos Hills and the vice mayor from Mountain View.

The County Poet Laureate Tshaka Campbell also attended the event. He wrote a poem called “Changing Homes” in honor of the new City Council Chambers.

This year’s awards event included self-guided tours of the new City Hall building, entertainment and information tables.

The City accepts award nominations from the community year-round. A panel of former

Community Award recipients and current board and commission members selects the winners.

Related Posts:
Sunnyvale Announces 2022 Community Award Winners


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.


You may like