The Silicon Valley Voice

Power To Your Voice

Board of Santa Clara County League of Conservation Voters Announces 2014 Environmental Award Recipients

The Board of the Santa Clara County League of Conservation Voters (SCCLCV) recently announced the recipients of their annual Environmental Awards.

Among the recipients are Environmentalists of the Year Danielle and Jed York; Santa Clara Mayor Jamie Matthews as a Legislator of the Year for being one of the champions of the Silicon Valley Advanced Water Purification Center: Lifetime Achievement Senator John Vasconcellos (posthumous).

“The competition was tough. The winners have achieved remarkable environmental successes and are exemplary role models. We’re proud to share their successes with the region,” stated SCCLCV President Rod Diridon, Sr.


The awards will be presented as part of the organization’s annual fundraiser hosted by Carl and Leslee Guardino on Thursday, Oct. 2, at 5:30 pm. Register for the event at

SCCLCV is the local chapter of the California League of Conservation Voters (CLCV). SCCLCV is responsible for endorsing and supporting environmentally oriented local candidates on behalf of the CLCV within Santa Clara County. The SCCLV has actively supported candidates and ballot initiatives since its founding 21 years ago and has a near 90 percent endorsement success rate.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.


You may like